

Patricia L. Rambosk, MMC

CITY CLERK 735 8TH Street South Naples FL 34102-6796 Telephone: (239) 213-1015 prambosk@naplesgov.com

www.naplesgov.com

Date: March 23, 2022 Contact: Patricia L. Rambosk, MMC, City Clerk

2022 SAM NOE AWARD RECIPIENT STEPHEN HRUBY



From Left: Stephen Hruby, Teresa Heitmann, Mayor

NAPLES, FL - *On March 23, 2022* the Naples City Council passed a resolution naming **Stephen Hruby** the recipient of the 2022 Sam Noe Award.

Mr. Hruby currently serves as the Chairman of the Design Review Board and has served on that Board since 2014.

He is an architect, urban planner and founding partner of Architects Unlimited, a 40-year-old architectural, urban design and town-planning firm. He is nationally recognized for his work with affordable housing, mixed income communities and community revitalization.

Mr. Hruby is active in community and professional affairs in Naples where he has resided for the past 25 years. He is currently vice-chairman of the Collier County Affordable Housing Advisory Committee and is the president of the Collier County Community Land Trust. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Naples Zoo. He presently serves on the Board of Directors for AIA Florida Southwest, the Florida Foundation for Architecture and has served on the Board of Directors of AIA Florida. Both AIA Florida and AIA Florida Southwest have awarded him the designation of Citizen Architect in recognition of his community service. He is also the recipient of the W.R. Frissell Medal of Honor, AIA Florida Southwest's highest honor.

In October 2006, the City Council established the Sam Noe Award to honor service to the City of Naples by Samuel V. Noe, AICP. Mr. Noe served as a member of the Planning Advisory Board from 2002 to 2006. A distinguished academic, planning consultant and advisor, Professor Noe was a strong supporter both of community revitalization and historic preservation. He became an advocate for master planning the City's gateway at the Gordon River and worked diligently on legislation to save structures of importance to the community's heritage.

Each year, an award is presented to a current or past member of a City of Naples board or committee, including the Naples Airport Authority, in Professor Samuel V. Noe's honor to recognize exemplary service within the mission of that body by members of the City's boards and committees.

Past honorees include Ronald Pennington, James Black, William Kroeschell, Murray Hendel, James Rideoutte, Peter Manion, Willie Anthony, Gary Price, C. Lodge McKee II, Alan Ryker, Linda Black, James Krall, David Feight, Bruce Selfon and Thomas D. McCann.